Sewing Red on Taylor Swift’s Tour!

I’ve work a lot of A list shows over the last 3 years, including 3 days for Sir Paul McCartney, but this was the first show I had to pass a background check!
The good news is, I passed, despite my civil incident and went on to sewing red dresses for 2 days on her sold out Orlando dates.
After only 10 weeks into the tour the red dresses the back up singers wore, were not holding up to well and they needed to make a second set for the busty babes. My job was to work under Pam to take some off the rack red dresses they had sent in and replace the flat girl upper bodice with a bustier version Pam had constructed on break, then replace the standard zippers with a wide tooth more rugged, quick change version and make sure everybody was fit properly.
I also altered a man’s jacket to let out the back seam and did some costume rigging to attach a man’s shirt and tie together for the male dancers, so that the tie stayed tied and was attached with Velcro and “whopper popper” giant snaps, to the shirts for quick changing of costumes between songs. This is a pretty standard quick change alteration you see a lot in theater and performance, which will be included in the costume rigging book I am writing.
This show had about 17 dancers and some of the most amazing costumes I’ve seen since Michael Jackson’s Immortal Cirque du Soleil World Tour!
I got to peek into Taylor’s special room she had set up for her VIP guests that included some beautiful dresses in plexiglass display cases with their own lighting. It was like a mini museum for some pretty epic couture gowns.
My friend Kyle Vest was working wardrobe in one of the dressing rooms next door, when a young lady came in there to work out. She had no make up on and was asking for help with the lighting in her room. Kyle went in with her and fixed the problem. After she left he about fainted when they told him that was Taylor!
My other friends Lorraine and Devyn worked for hours to prepare some pretty elaborate costumes for all of the female dancers.
I ran into a few of the teens I met working the So You Think You Can Dance Tour. It was really cool to see them moving on to bigger and better things. Especially Caitlynn, who had a pretty big role in Taylor’s show. I worked with her a lot during her week of quick change rehearsals in Orlando practicing for the tour.
Taylor’s wardrobe was kept under close watch. She had some gorgeous pieces that were quite blinged out! Lots of swarovski crystals on costumes, hats and an epic cane.
My favorite piece was a jacket they said weighted about 30 lbs due to all the stones on it!
Security was very high on this show. We actually had to leave the wardrobe rooms, so bomb sniffing dogs could come through! We were warned not to call, pet or show affection to the dogs or make any sudden movements around them!
After day 1, I actually got to see the show, which was pretty cool. My friend Jenny had some floor seats, so I went out to say Hi and hung out for a bit.
One of my stagewear designer friends asked me to say Hi to her friend Amos, Taylor’s bass player. I don’t normally run into everybody on the tour, so I figured it would be a long shot. As it turns out, I was walking down the hall with one of the wardrobe crew when they said “Hey Amos” to a guy passing by. I said “Amos Heller?”, he said “Yes!” I said “Kim Kylla Dylla” asked me to say Hi to you, but I didn’t think I’d actually run into you!” He was as surprised as I was.
Day 2 was more of the same. Had to fit all the girls and then work on finishing everything for stage.
That dang song “weeeeee are never ever ever getting back together” got stuck in my head for days.

20131229-233506.jpg

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

