Kim Dylla of Kylla Custom Rock Wear talks Stagewear, 70,000 tons, Vulvatron, Art, Cooking and More.

Kim Dylla of Kylla Custom Rock Wear shared some up close and personal details with Psycho Seamstress on Rock Rage Radio on her Rock Fashion Stagewear company, her international travels for 70,000 Tons of Metal Cruise, her amazing art work, her epic cooking fails and her experience as Vulvatron of Gwar. Kim was out on a road trip from her home in Virgina, enroute to Michigan when she took the time out to talk with me.

This interview audio originally aired on Rock Rage Radio (.com) on Tuesday, March 24th at 8pm.

Rock Rage Radio

The full and original audio of this interview was mixed with a slideshow and is posted on YouTube at http://youtu.be/2jQBe_rOe60

Psycho: Kim, Thank you for joining us today, can you tell us a little bit about yourself for the people who don’t know who you are and what you do?

Kim: My name is Kim Dylla aka “Kylla” which is a nickname of mine, an amalgamation of my first and last name. I run a stagewear clothing company called “Kylla Custom Rock Wear” and we specialize in making rock and metal denim and leather gear for musicians, bands and everyday rock stars. 
 Kylla Custom Rock Wear
Psycho: Awesome, So tell me how did you get started in designing stagewear?
Kim: I always liked to sew my own clothes because when I was a teenager, I dressed really crazy, totally uber goth and there wasn’t a Hot Topic or anything. A few years later I had a hard time finding clothes that I like and also that I could afford. My mom taught me how to sew and my friends taught me how to make corsets, so if you can pattern a corset, you can pretty much pattern anything!
 Kylla Corset
 Psycho: Right? No Doubt!
 Kim: I didn’t have much money for materials so I would buy salvage leather jackets and things from thrift stores and cut them up and make them into something new. In doing that I think I created more interesting garments than when sewing something from a pattern where you have very clean lines and things like that so that’s what gave me the idea and then my friend Joey Jordinson from Slip Knot
kim-and-joey-kylla-wear
had really cool stage wear that he would wear that probably cost thousands of dollars and I could never afford it, but I saw how his things were made because I fixed some things a couple of times for him. Then one day he liked my jacket that I had made that I was just wearing around him better than his jacket that he was wearing so he asked to borrow it and wore it on stage with Rob Zombie and he also wore it to an awards ceremony like the Grammy’s and then I started getting phone calls from other musicians like Rob Flynn from Machine Head and the Cradle of Filth guys wanting this jacket. At the time I was working full time in the academic circuit at the University of Virginia on some Cultural Heritage applications, in the Computer Science realm, sor of digital archaeology.
Psycho: So that was your day job?
Kim: Yea, I worked at several universities including University of Virginia, Arkansas State University, remotely, when the orders of the clothing business started getting out of control and I thought well, what would happen, how many jackets would I have to make to match my faculty salary and match my health insurance costs there you have it, so it’s been working out!
Psycho: So it became cost effective for you to quit your day job?
Kim: I actually ended up making more money with that and now I have a full time business partner employee Laurie, so we have a two woman endeavor with Kylla and it has grown in size in the 3-4 years we’ve been doing this we are planning to expand to a manufactured ready to wear line now that we’ve really made a name for ourselves. 
Kim and Laurie
Psycho: I think I met you about half way through this of where you are now from where you started, you’ve got some pretty famous clients, who would you say, because you mentioned Machine Head, they’re huge, who would you say are some of your most famous, craziest or maybe your favorite clients?
Kim: This week alone we made stuff for Arnel Pineda from Jouney,
Journey
I am making a new piece for Bray Wyatt from WWE who’s gonna wear it at Wrestle Mania this weekend
and then we did a full band wardrobe for Machine Head,
machinehead
Arch Enemy and Creator.
Last year we dressed Asking Alexandria’s Wedding, Ben Bruce (for him and his entire wedding party)
Psycho: Yes I saw that show up on your posts and I remember it from last year!
Kim: Yea they were really fun guys. I love working with Machine Head too, they’re great, I’ve known them forever and they’ve always been really supportive of rocking our designs. Other than that we just work with regular people to and you don’t have to be in a famous band and part of the thing I pride our company on is that we treat everyone equally regardless of their level of fame, you don’t get anything for free just because your famous, you don’t get priority, everyone pays the same amount, everyone can order, everyone gets a custom size whether your 5XL or extra small you just pay the same amount of money and you wait in line and you get everything. I don’t want to say that it’s really exciting seeing your work on stage with huge bands and bands I am a fan of and in the ring at Wrestle Mania, but it’s also really exciting when I get Bob’s Local Band from Texas is really stoked about these outfits we just made them. I’ve played in bands for years and before joining GWAR this year, I was in a band that a lot of people knew of but I want to treat all musicians equally, this is not a fame game, we are NOT in LA.
Kylla Custom Rock Wear 
Psycho: Right? That’s Awesome! That was I think one of the things that surprised me the most when we talked, is your price point, I mean you’re REALLY affordable. I remember you told me the story of how you wanted to make sure that everybody could afford you and that’s really, the stuff that you do is amazing and I think it’s really great that you do that.
 
Kim: Thanks! The idea with that is because there is a GAP in the market between say like what you can buy at Hot Topic for $50 and then something like a Junker’s jacket for like $1,500, I know as a touring musician and having worked with touring musicians for years and people in bands and close friends of mine I am VERY aware of what people make and how much money you have and how much people are willing to spend. Very few people have 4 figures to drop on any one piece of clothing and that leaves a big gap between people who don’t want to look like just every other Lip Service jacket but you need something cool to wear onstage. So I was like, OK, what is the amount that people would spend… is it somewhere between $200-300 dollars, expecially with payments its very affordable to everyone and it’s too hard to turn it down at that price.
 
Psycho: Right
 
Kim: Then we had to figure out how to make it for that so if we bought leather hides and scratch patterned every single piece, we’re not making any money by the time count $200 in materials and then 15 hours of work. By using salvaged leather and denim which in my opinion looks cooler compared to things that aren’t that interesting fashion wise, we take button panels and pockets and fly’s and things that are a pain to sew, I mean they are not hard to sew but they take more time than just sewing seams, just sourcing those from pre exhisting garments, its helps cut down on the time it takes to make it and allows us to turn a good profit and while keeping the price point affordable to people who actually play music for a living.
 
Psycho: It’s funny you should say that because I just went through my closet the other day and I have this huge mountain of clothes that I am just going to cut stuff off of and use to make other stuff because it’s just a salvage operation! When you design for your clothing do people usually have some idea of what they want when they come to you or do they say just go with it or do you get a mix of that?
 
Kim: A lot of guys don’t really know what they want, so they’re like OK, I am in this kind of band and I like this piece you did and this piece you did, do your thing with a leather jacket that is 3/4 length, or do your thing with a denim vest and put this patch on the back.
 
Psycho: So they just give you a little bit of specs on the end product and just let you rip huh?
 
Kim: Yea or I say just send me pictures of your favorite things on our website that we’ve made and then we will design to that. But then sometimes we get clients who are really picky who will send me a 10 page diatribe about each bit, so we can accommodate both types. What’s bad is when someone knows exactly what they want, but don’t know how to describe it. They so oh just do your think but they actually had something really specific in mind. So that can be challenging!
 
Psycho: So do you have a pretty long process when your are interviewing your clients regarding what they are looking for?
 
Kim: I just get from them measurements, any sort of images they want, patches, images of other garments that we’ve made, that they like, they will be like, I like the lacing panel on the back of this one and I like this material…I don’t want to make any garment exactly like other garments we’ve made I want to make things to be unique but we can make some thing similar to another garment.
 
Psycho: Cool
 
Kim: Sometimes they send me emails that are like Oh, by the way, can you make this with an inside pocket or can you make the sleeves removable. I try to communicate with everybody in writing because we have probably 2 months of orders going on at any point in time, so when I actually get to sewing that one, I may have forgotten the exact discussion so it’s important to be able to go bac through all of that.
 
Psycho: Are You still running about 6-8 weeks behind?
 
Kim: We started off pretty slow at the beginning of the year because we were doing a lot of stuff with 70,000 Tons [of Metal Cruise]…. December was really busy, so I think everyone may have exhausted their money, but it’s picking back up, we are at about a month and a half backlog right now so were both booked through the end of April.
 
Psycho: Most of your clientele started out in the Death Metal world, you mentioned your doing some WWF now, Journey which is more main stream, have you had any body else call you up that was a surprise to you when they wanted to become your client?
 
Kim: ….I am not networked into the acting and TV world, so when I get calls from those people it really surprises me, I haven’t really done much with them because like a lot of the top level musicians they think that they expect things for free in exchange for fame, it’s great to be able to take this picture of somebody on the red carpet wearing your things but unless they actively promo you and post links to your page on their social media profile when they have millions of followers, that doesn’t really do any good, when people don’t know where they got that, exposure doesn’t pay the bills.
 
Psycho: WOW, THAT SHOCKS ME THAT EVEN AT YOUR PRICE POINT PEOPLE STILL WANT IT FOR FREE because of who they are that just blows me away because you are SO AFFORDABLE! 
 
Kim: Well, Thank You! People are used to endorsements but Marshall never gave away a free amplifier!
 
Psycho: Exactly, Well Good Point!! It’s good to be busy enough to turn away people that think that you NEED to do that. 
 
Kim: If you have active promotion and you have more than a million followers, then I can discount on what I would spend on an ad, or if people order a LOT of things, like a whole band wardrobe, even if they don’t have a large social media following, I will give a discount for that. 
 
Psycho: That’s Excellent!
 
Kim: There was a band from Levinia who inquired about doing this really complicated stage armor type stuff and I forwarded them back with something that would be low for something so involved which was above budget, so I was like What is your budget? … Then I can come up with something that would be a reasonable look for you and not that complicated that we can do to work within your budget. 
 
Psycho: Now, we’ve talked about how you wanted to do more in womens wear are you seeing an increase in those sales and orders or how is that going?
Doro

Kim: I think that market is pretty saturated, I do mainly men because in the metal world of musicians is very male dominated and they are very under served in terms of men’s clothing, people just wear all black or jeans and t shirts, you know? or a plain leather jacket or plain leather pants and women have a lot more options out there, you know I love and I get really excited when I make things for girls in bands because it’s so near to my heart! We still have a bunch of women’s ready to wear stuff on our Etsy site (https://www.etsy.com/shop/KyllaCustomRockWear) that has been sitting there for a while, especially like the fashion show stuff because people can buy that everywhere.

Psycho: That surprises me but your right, that makes perfect sense! So who is on your “Hit List” do you have any bands that you want to design for that you haven’t worked with yet?
 
Kim: I would love to make something for Iron Maiden because they are my favorite band of all time! That would just make my life complete!
 
Psycho: I saw you posted a picture with Nicko (McBrain) not too long ago…
Kim and Nicko McBrain
Kim: I did! That happened not too long ago right before the cruise, we went to his restaurant Rock and Roll Ribs and he was just sitting there, talking with a friend and I had met him before backstage at Oz Fest, they were there and I was sitting at the only free table back in catering and they walked in and asked me if they could sit down at my table and I think it took me 5 minutes to say YES!! I basically introduced myself and then had to walk away! I don’t want to be friends with my idols! I did bother Nicko for a picture and he was really sweet about it! 
 
Psycho: Wow, that was nice!! 
 
Kim: It was funny because the restaurant was FULL of metal heads and no one recognized him but me! 
 
Psycho: That’s Funny!! Now you have a pretty unconventional work schedule, what is a typical day like for you?
Kim at work
Kim: I don’t do schedules or routines, I’ve always been bad about that, I’d go insane if I had to do the same thing for more than a couple of days in a row. I am definitely not a morning person, if I ever became Empress of the Universe, I would ban mornings from existence! When I am in a studio grind at home and not taking my machine on the road, (I do that a lot, I am doing that right now!) I basically spend all day answering emails, ordering supplies, running to stores, post office and banks that are only open certain hours. By the time I get all that done, it’s later in the evening, then I just work all night till the sun rises, then I watch the sun rise in my hot tub and then I got to bed. 
 
Psycho: So that’s a typical day in the life of Kim!
 
Kim: I think a lot of artists work better at night, I think a lot of times it has to do with my focus level and not being distracted like in the daytime, lots of people are up.
 
Psycho: Yea, you’ve got to deal with your business people when they’re awake! 
 
Kim: We have clients all over the world so it doesn’t ever really stop. I think I am in 37 countries now?
 
Psycho: I was just going to ask you that, so your are pretty global now on every content?
 
Kim: Well Gwar is from Antarctica so I guess that counts! We did just dress a South African band, so that covers Africa. We’ve got every continent now. 
Psycho: Where are you with your ready to wear line? Have you got that going yet?
 
Kim: I am aiming for a fall launch on that, I am in the process of doing the designs and then I want to have the plan reviewed by an MBA or someone who knows business because I am an amateaur business woman, professional artist, amateaur business woman. It will take a significant investment, I want someone who knows what they are doing with money, to look at my plan and then we will go forward from there.
 
Psycho: Where do you see your line being sold, like on Etsy, Online or with reatilers like Hot Topic, What are your goals with that?
 
Kim: Definately NOT Hot Topic, because their price point is way too low…. I want to maintain the quality at all levels, real leather, I want things to be manufactured in smaller quantities, I would like to do some retail and wholesale work but I am thinking more high end, Rock and Roll Boutiques like Trash and Vaudiville in NY and X or X in Berlin. That of course will help with the exclusivity of bands and things wearing the name rather than being mass produced and mass distrubted in malls, which I am not sure how I’d feel about that. It would be nice not to have to make everything from scratch, if someone wanted something right now, we can say OK, well we have these 4 or 5 designs for you that you can order from in stock, online and in retail stores in different cities. 
 
Psycho: If anybody wants to contact you regarding carrying your retail line, they could get in touch with you, that would be great if you could get some of that lined up before you actually go into production. 
 
Psycho: Since this is a radio show, you can actually pick a track for us to play, maybe something from one of your personal recording projects?
 
Kim: I’d like to play some Kung Fu Dykes, my favorite band live, we have played GwarBQue, they are sort of like Tron meets Big Trouble In Little China. 
kung fu dykes    Kung Fu Dykes
 
Psycho: I remember the costume!
 
Kim: Yea, it’s all black and white and stuff!
 
Psycho: Ha, so tell me about the track that you want us to play?
 
Kim: Do you have any sort of restrictions on language?
 
Psycho: NOPE!
 
Kim: Then, I would like to play “Meanest Bitch” because that is my favorite Kung Fu Dykes song, they’ve been playing it for about 20 years, that song was written before I was IN the band, but it’s the most fun to play live because we do all sorts of Kung Fu moves and it’s just really catchy!
 
Psycho: Kim and I actually met in person for the first time on the 70,000 Tons of Metal Cruise back in Jan 2014. We saw each other again on the cruise a few weeks ago, I was working hospitality, artist relations, for the event, you seemed to be the ring leader of some stuff, what was going on there? What were you doing?
1c 70k
 
Kim: I work for 70,000 Tons of Metal now as a Pool Girl. Kylla Custom Rock Wear makes the pool girl outfits, the outfits we wear daily doing promotional work and the bikinis as well. Wicked Lester helped to make the dresses, just because it’s so much work to 36 different outfits. The pool girls are a group of metal head women who are cruisers and passionate about 70,000 Tons of Metal and have been on the cruise before. All of us are actively contributing members to metal scene in some way, we play in bands or run promotional sites and things like that. This summer they sent us to Europe to Hellfest and Grasspop and other festivals to interview bands that have played the cruise, walk around the crowd and hand out sunscreen, we did that on the boat as well. We are basically promotional models and the face of the brand and it’s really fun to spend some time with some other girls that are really passionate about metal because I find my daily life to be quite the sausage party! 
 
Psycho: So do you pick up a lot of clients at events like that as well?
 
Kim: It’s hit and miss, I don’t do a lot of advertising [other than her own social media, see links below]. Most of my advertising is in talking to people because I find that works the best. Every festival I go to, or being on the cruise and having the 70k social media share links about Kylla Custom Rock Wear that brings me business, especially from fellow cruisers. This year Arch Enemy played the cruise and they were rocking the Kylla gear on stage, so that was neat to see. 
ae
Psycho: That was one of the few shows I got to see because I was busy running around. I was particularly impressed when I walked into the show, I hear this voice and I am just assuming it’s a dude and then I look up on stage and it’s this girl and I was like OMG! So you do some stagewear for them? 
 
Kim: Yea we dress the entire band for their new album. If you look at the War Eternal video… the entire wardrobe is Kylla Custom Rock Wear. All the things that the band wears, we’ve made. Alissa has her own wardrobe that she worked on and altered and some of her pieces, we made. Some of them are her own. Nick Cordle the guitarist on that album used to be in my band Thismeansyou and he lives down the street from me and after Thismeansyou he joined … which toured with Arch Enemy which is how he got that gig. So my in was when he’d come over to my house while they were writing that album, that was how I ended up designing for them. Not cruise related, but it was cool to see them on the boat. 
Arch Enemy Kylla
Psycho: What were some of the most memorable fashions you saw on stage at 70,000 tons?
 
Kim: Venom and Destruction are two of my favorite bands, I really liked the stuff that looked really old school metal. That was great. I think Schmier always looks great on stage and Cronos has his own thing going on. I got to interview Venom, which was really cool because of the Pool Girl thing, about their new album… they were really fun. They seemed interested in getting some gear made, so that would be a really cool gig!
Psycho: Did you get to see that couple that got married on the ship and what they were wearing? It was pretty awesome!
10959726_10205858584563101_5452450528208063371_n
Kim: I was working during their marriage but I saw the pictures. That was really cool!
Psycho: I saw you with the Chainmail Santa guy!
10888377_1009637595716252_3001519767702830561_n
Kim: Chainmail Santa, yea he’s a cruise staple!
Psycho: I saw you doing an interview on the beach and he’s kinda laying there and then you see him wrestling with this girl, then the next thing you know she’s wearing his chainmail!
1604866_10101922380810256_4551108773956900884_n
Kim: Yea, that was Laurie, the other half of Kylla Custom Rock Wear!! She challenged Chainmail Santa to a wrestling match… she had prior wresting experience and he was dressed for battle.
Psycho: So I take it she won?!… since she got his clothes!
 Chainmail Santa
Kim: Yea I think he even fell over without her even touching him.
Psycho: I have a couple of pictures of him passed out in chairs and all kinds of stuff! What was the craziest fan fashion you saw on the ship, did anything catch your eye?
Kim: People wear their crazy costumes, this year I didn’t get to hang out at Karaoke as much, because of the new location of it, it didn’t get started untill 3 or 4 in the morning and there wasnt enough seating to hang around in that bar like before, so I didn’t get to see a lot of the crazier costumes….
Psycho: The pajama day, I was a little disappointed with the Karaoke this year, I hope next year they go back to the way they used to do it because I think they got a much better turn out. I saw you posted, didn’t you do a tune with COC? 
 
Kim: Yea I sang Vote With A Bullet with Corrosion of Conformity Blind, which was really fun. Corrosion of Conformity opened for us on half of the Gwar Eternal Tour, so we became really good friends with Reed and they asked me to do a guest song, which was an honor and really fun. I got to do that again with them at another show in Baltimore recently with I Hate God and Cro-Mag, so that was neat!!
Kim with COC
Psycho: So if you could pick a track that reminded you most of the 70,000 Tons of Metal Cruise, what would it be?
 
Kim: I guess you’d have to play COC “Vote With A Bullet”
 
Psycho: Yea, good choice! Alright!
 
This is actually the YouTube video of Kim doing the song with COC on 70ktm!
 
and here is the version she was talking about at the club in Baltimore, MD (she throws her wig off mid show!)
Psycho: Kim I am dying to hear more about your tour with Gwar, you were their new alien singer Vulvatron. I want to thank you for hooking me up with tickets for your show in Orlando! I personally had never seen Gwar, I had heard a lot of the legendary stories. I must say it was quite an amazing experience, can you describe for our listeners who have never seen Gwar, what goes on?
10933844_10101915526680986_190389661627018981_n
Kim: Gwar is sort of a different animal than other metal shows, basically it’s a blood bath.
gwar-101
Prepare, pathetic humans to be slaughtered by the serious scum doggers that are Gwar! 
 
Psycho: You’ve known the guys from Gwar for a while, how did that come about?
 
Kim: They live in Richmond and I live in Charlottesville, which is about an hour away. I was really good friends with David Brockie for many, many years, we were close. (long pause)
Vulvatron
I also knew Brent [Perguson of Canibal Corpse] who was Pustulus, the guitar player, because his old band he was in before Cory’s passing and my old band used to play together. Then Kung Fu Dykes played Gwar B Q and we played Cory’s Memorial Show and Brockie’s Memorial Show as well as the fundraisers organized by the Gwar camp to support Randy Blythe’s [Lamb of God] legal fund when he was imprisoned in the Czech republic because of a scandal with a fan jumping on stage and then falling to their death. When Brockie passed away, Brent called me on the phone and asked if I would be interested in singing with Gwar. That was an honor. 
 
Psycho: Wow, So how were you received? 
 
Kim: The fans really liked seeing a strong female character out there, in my opinion.
10100155.87
Psycho: I think so!
 
Kim: The press response was OVERWHELMING and much more positive than I expected because I am used to the internet being a hive of scum… and actually there were very few negative things said at all. I got a lot of fan responses especially from women and girls, who were glad to see a positive role model character, you can be a monster, you can be smart and you can have giant boobs instead of just being somebody’s back up dancer or somebody’s girlfriend. And you can get up there on the mic and play dinosaurs!
 
Psycho: Can you tell us about the AMAZING costume you were wearing?
Vulvatron Costume
Kim: The Vulvatron costume, that was jointly designed by me and Matt Maguire of Slave Pit, he and Bob Gorman have been behind most of Gwar’s amazing props and costumes for their entire 30 year legacy. Matt and I bounced some ideas around while we were in Europe last summer, when we were planning this and then he covered my body in plaster and we made latex molds of all the gear. He sculpted it out of clay and then poured latex into the molds. I think we spent like 3 weeks getting all that ready before my first gig which was at RiotFest in Chicago. 
 
Psycho: WOW, so how far would your bloody boob spew go?
Vulvatron Spew
Kim: That could spew up to 100 feet, it was controlled by a compressor. Most of the time we would turn the pressure down so I wouldn’t hit Front of House, but shows like RiotFest, when your playing a giant festival or in an arena the POWER of the boob spew knows no bounds!!
Kim as Vulvatron
Psycho: There were some reallllly good photos some people got of it mid flight and it’s just going sideways and everywhere, I mean there were just some amazing photos!! Did you have any wardrobe malfunctions?
 
Kim: Yea, sometimes I would bend over and things would come unvelcroed, they are hooked together with velcro but nothing was revealed before I stuck it back. One night I almost head banged my wig off! Which wouldn’t have been a problem….
 
Psycho: I remember you guys had some trouble at a couple of venues where they wanted to ban what you were wearing and keep you from squirting from your breasts? 
 
Kim: We weren’t “banned” but Gwar’s costumes are illegal in certain states, Brockie famously got arrested ….. in NC. The promoter could get fined thousands of dollars if we were to go onstage as we are, I got a bikini put over my boobs and the guys, we all wear thongs so we all had to wear panties over our butt cheeks. Then we have a sex drone alien that we had to put tape over his nipples as well. I think the laws are in place in those places so they can’t have strip clubs and things like that, more conservative places, lots of places in the bible belt, like Tennessee and North Carolina.
 
Psycho: So at least it wasn’t just female descrimination, they descriminated against everybody huh? They made everybody do it?
 
Kim: Oh Yeah, Male butts, female butts, alien nipples.
 
Psycho: Blood Spewing Alien nipples are illegal? Who Knew?!!
 
Kim: I don’t know if they made Ball Sack put away his ball sack actually…
Kim as Vulvatron
Psycho: Oh My God! Well it seems like Vulvatron made quite an amazing addition to Gwar, your friends probably weren’t surprised but how did your family react?
 
Kim: Oh, my Mom was so proud of me, she has been to every show of mine in the last 15 years that has been in her area… Thismeansyou, Kung Fu Dykes, now Gwar. My dad didn’t get to see it, he has a very demanding career so he didn’t get to come out for the show. 
 
Psycho: It’s good that they are supportive, that is so cool!! So it must have been pretty easy to make a clean entrance and a clean get away with these shows because you had such an amazing costume to hide in, what was it like to be able to walk around in the crowd without anybody recognizing you?
 
Kim: Oh, That was Great! I don’t like the aspect of being famous however I have a lot of famous friends and I don’t have a good opinion of fame. I don’t think it brings anything but fakeness out in people. You can have Vulvatron be famous but not Kim, that’s really cool because I can just walk around and people don’t recognize me, every our crazy and most ravaged Gwar fans don’t seem to recognize me walking out to the bus except like 3 or 4 the entire tour which was great because I have the magical powers of transformal hair. I wear different wigs all the time, not to throw off the KGB but it’s because I have Alopecia Ariota and lots my hair when I was 16 and now I just wear different wigs all the time. It’s very confusing and it’s GREAT.
 10968490_10101947487985276_2620878604208669356_n  Kim Dylla and Psycho Seamstress  Kim Dylla
 
Psycho: Yea no doubt! I mean, from one minute to the next you can go from bald to blonde bob, to long haired purple hair, that’s like a super power!! So if you had to pick one of your favorite gwar songs, for us to play, what would be your favorite song? 
 
Kim: I guess I Hate Love Songs is my favorite Gwar song, which is great because I got to sing that [live] on this past tour. I am not on the recording obviously but that has always been one of my favorite Gwar songs. 
Here is a YouTube video featuring Kim as Vulvatron singing I Hate Lovesongs with Gwar
 
Psycho: One of the things I was interested in knowing when I read your profile on KimDylla.com, YOUR PAINTINGS, YOU ARE AN AMAZING ARTIST! Where are they now? Have you ever put them in a gallery? 
Kim the Artist
Kim: I’ve been painting my whole life, I think oil painting is one of the things I think I might be best at. I did a series of large scale photorealistic machine paintings I called them, of high enery physics equipment, my dad is a Physicist, my mother also works in physics, high energy physics so I sort of grew up around the crazy big science machines that could fill football fields so I’ve always been fascinated with the asthetic of those so I started making paintings and compositions out of them. I’ve exhibited them all over, from the American Institute of Physics here in the DC area, to San Francisco at the convention center out there at a Physics Conference. I had several art world exibitions in Charlottesville as part of my undergraduate work with the University of Virginia. All of them are sold now, I want to make more of them, I had to put painting down for a while to focus on the clothing business, because I had too many things going on in my life, I was also a pro wrestler and I had a full time job in Acedemia, two bands, three bands at times and this so, you know, I get more passive income with the clothing business, when we have a manufactured line I think I’ll have time to paint again.
 
Psycho: You’ve had quite a lot of success in your life, what are your goals for the future?
 
Kim: I would like to be Happy! Sucess is often quantified in montary achievements or fame. I got my dream, I’ve always wanted to tour in a live band and it was because of the tragic passing of one of my best friends, a bad thing happened and a good thing happened, so I can sort of check the box off on that one! I don’t think that’s really sustainable as a long term life style, I don’t think I want to become a full time alcoholic / broke person ha ha but, I would like the clothing company to grow and become something that I don’t have to put constant all nighters into to keep afloat so if I could have a distributable manufactured retail line… and maybe an office in another country like the UK or Germany just to have more of a base in Europe I really love Europe and I love the UK and I try to spend about half my time there when it’s possible.
 
Psycho: One of the things I wanted to ask you about which is one of the things that leads me to believe that you are actually human, you have some issues with cooking? Can you tell us about your latest epic kitchen fail?
 
Kim: I tried to make oh what was it, catfish or something.
Kim's Curled Catfish
My problem with cooking is not that I don’t try, I can’t really follow recipes exactly because I am allergic to garlic and onions which is in every single recipe, being perpetually on the road person, I don’t spend a lot of time in my home or around my kitchen, having a lack of fresh ingredients in my fridge, things go bad, I think it’s more of a lifestyle choice, for people who have families and day jobs and are in the same place all the time. I haven’t had a lot of time to spend with my kitchen. When I make something it’s usually like lean quisine or a salad, but occasionally I will attempt to cook something like a chicken breast or fish, I am pretty good at steak because all you have to do is sear the sides and you can still eat it mooing. ha ha I have an inate inability to determine if something is done or not. It always ends up like on fire or it’s stuck to the pan, completely salmanellarific still pink in places. I’ve tried meat thermometors, I’ve tried, like it will say cook till done or cook until golden brown or brown until tender those areen’t instructions like, tell me to put it at this temperature for this long. Ok like cook in medium heat, that’s like a really big variable and put some oil in the pan, OK? How much? and what size pan? At what point do you turn this over and it obviusly depends upon the size of your meat and things like that and when you put a meat thermometer in it you get a different number for each part of the meat, so I don’t see how any of this works, it usually ends up, you know, inedible! 
 
Psycho: It ends up on your wall of Facebook!! 
 
Kim: Yea everyone always posts these cute pictures of their perfect meal they made and so I like posting pictures of my complete kitchen disasters because they are sooo bad, I mean sometimes I make things and they turn out OK, but I don’t post those, because this is not amusing, everyone loves, like, laughing at me and then telling me how to do it right, which also requires me being able to determine whether it’s done or not.
 
Psycho: You’ve talked about doing a blog or a video show on your cooking fails?
 
Kim: I think the metal cooking thing has been overdone now there’s a million things like that but what I see is people with blogs about their failure things. Everyone likes to laugh at the “Nailed It” fails about things that came out terrible, like you see on Pinterest, so I wanted to maybe like make a blog about all the recipes I’ve tried that have turned out really terrible in my copius amount of spare time!
 
Psycho: I posted on your wall the other day when you were talking about your burnt catfish that you should call your blog “Kylla in the Kitchen” and just let it be wishfull thinking! I think it’s hilarious, it’s always funny and your right, people are always posting about these glorious meals that they make!
 
Kim: Once I actually messed up Easy Mac!….and that’s really hard to do!! I put too much water in it, I guess I wasn’t looking at the fill line correctly and I stuck it in the microwave with the litte cheese packet in but it ended up being like soup. Of course I ate it anyway!!!
 
Psycho: Right? Because you were hungry!… so If you could give some advise to musicians out there wanting to improve their image on stage, what would your best advise be?
 
Kim: Make sure you have a cohesive image as a band! The worst thing I see is people having off the rack clothes that everyone else has. The worst thing is when one person is dressed like a rennaisance dude and one person looks like they are going to a goth club and the other guy is in jeans and a t shirt and THEN you are playing a style of metal that doesn’t match any of those things! To me, whatever you do, do it as a band and something that makes sense for the music your playing. Having a visual image is important… not having a visual image is also a visual image, plent of bands I WOULDN’T dress because they would look silly in anything but jeans and a t shirt, that’s just their look. Certainly think about a cohesive look for your group.
Kim at work
​Kim Dylla   www.kimdylla.com
Kylla Custom Rock Wear​    www.KyllaCustomRockWear.com
@KyllaCustomWear
#KyllaCustomRockWear
Leave a Reply

